5 Unexpected Tips for Personal Growth

Sure, we’ve all heard about “goal setting” and taking massive amounts of action

But those of us who have been following this advice for years know that there’s more to it than just writing down goals and taking action.

So what’s happening under the hood to propel progress?

Is there a wizard behind the curtain that is needed to make it happen?

I’m convinced that the difference between people who reach their goals and the people who fall short is how they handle the “moments between moments”

Habits and discipline certainly plays into this, but there’s gotta be something more…

What I think matters above all is your ATTITUDE

Do you make a decision every day to live in a “beautiful state” (as Tony Robbins calls it).

You have to make the commitment to face live with a positive attitude and ENJOY your day.

If it’s always a “grind” to try to reach your goals, what’s the point of that anyway?

I have my own big, hairy audacious goals ( or “BHAGS” - thanks Jim Collins), but if every day is going to feel like a grind, there’s no point.

If we’re just chasing something at the end of the tunnel, the grass is always going to be greener on the other side.

The point is, we have to find the way to enjoy the process of becoming a better, stronger person.

Here are my 5 favorite tips for creating a positive attitude and enjoying your life on the path:

1. Embrace Your Inner Crazy

Remember when you were a kid and you weren't afraid to try new things?

Well, it's time to channel that energy and try new things again!

Whether it's learning a new skill or trying a new hobby, don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone.

2. Laugh At Yourself

Life just isn't that serious

My late grandfather always used to say "Never lose your sense of humor."

We all make mistakes.

Instead of beating yourself up over them, learn to laugh at yourself and move on.

After all, laughter is the best medicine!

3. Embrace Awkward Silence

There is so much to be learned in silence.

Don't open your mouth just because you're uncomfortable.

This will improve your ability to listen thoughtfully and read people.

4. Recharge

I don't mean turn into a couch potato and pat yourself on the back for working hard.

Find an activity that recharges your battery.

My recharge activities are lifting weights and grappling

It doesn't have to be exercise related, but it needs to recharge you.

5. Learn To Say "No"

The more you know your goals and priorities, the easier this gets.

Stay open minded, but if you don't have the time for it now, you likely wont in the future either.

There you have it!

I hope that was helpful and a little different than what you're used to and find that useful.

I know that these 5 tips help me stay grounded and present.

Enjoy the life you have while you build! It will create more positive momentum!

I’m truly grateful for you being on this journey with me and it’s my honor to walk your path with you. I hope you found this helpful.

Forever Forward,

Rush

P.S. There are 2 ways I can help you if you’re ready for more:

#1. If you’re ready to get serious about your personal or professional growth, email me to see if coaching is the right fit for you.

There are phone and text-based plans based on your needs. Reply to this email with “Coaching.”

#2. For more methods, insights, inspiration and practical advice, Follow me on Twitter and LinkedIn

See you next week!